TYPE 1 Conditionals  (possible events)

Are used to talk about events which are possble. The conditional clause can refer to the present or the future.

STRUCTURE

IF CLAUSE + MAIN CLAUSE

IF CLAUSE

IF   +     PRESENT SIMPLE

+

MAIN CLAUSE

WILL   +   BASE FORM VERB

EXAMPLES:

1.- If I work hard, I will be rich.

2.-If Mary goes to the party, I will ask her to dance.

3.- If  Jack gets the tickets, we will go to the baseball game.

4.- If the concert is tomorrow, we won´t get any tickets.

5.- If you save money, you will go on vacations by the end of the year.

TYPE 2 Conditionals  (unreal present)

Are used to express imaginary situtions which are contrary to facts in the present and therefore, are improbable to happen in the present or the future.

We can use “were” for all the persons in the If- clause

EXAMPLES:

“If I were rich”

“If he were here”

“If I were you”

STRUCTURE

IF CLAUSE + MAIN CLAUSE

IF CLAUSE

IF   +     PAST SIMPLE/ PAST CONTINUOUS

+

MAIN CLAUSE

WOULD/COULD/MIGHT   +   BASE FORM VERB

EXAMPLES:

1.- If I won the lottery, I would be rich.

2.-If I were you, I could accept that job.

3.- If  had enough money, I would buy that car.

4.- If you were working in my company, you would be better paid.

5.- If you were president, We wouldn´t have these economic problems.

TYPE 3 Conditionals  (unreal past)

Are used to express imaginary situations which re contrary to facts in the past. They are also used to express REGRETS or CRITICISM.

STRUCTURE

IF CLAUSE + MAIN CLAUSE

IF CLAUSE

IF   +     PAST PERFECT/ PAST PERFECT CONTINUOUS

+

MAIN CLAUSE

WOULD/COULD/MIGHT   +   PRESENT PERFECT

EXAMPLES:

1.- If I had studied harder, Icould have passed the exam.

2.-If Mario Had paid the bills, he wouldn´t  have been arrested.

3.- If  time had been better, we might have gone to the beach.

4.- If Mexican soccer team had won the last World Cup, they would have gotten more fans.

5.- If there hadn´t been economic crisis last year, Our economy might have improved.

MIXED CONDITIONALS

They can be used, where the context permits, by combining if  -clause from one type of conditional with the main clause of another.

EXAMPLES:

CONDITIONAL TYPE 2                +                CONDITIONAL TYPE 1

If he missed his fly last night, he will take the first one this morning.

CONDITIONAL TYPE 2               +                 CONDITIONAL TYPE 3

If  he was richer, he wouldn´t have needed the loan.

CONDITIONAL TYPE 3               +                 CONDITIONAL TYPE 2

If she had passed her exams, she would be at university now

ACTIVITY 1. ANSWER THESE PHOTOCOPIES, AND SEND YOUR ANSWERS BY E-MAIL.

ANSWERS.
CONDITIONALS 1
A

1.- If you need anything, I´ll get it for you.
2.- If it wasn{t raining, I´d go swimming.
3.- If I could fly, I´d go to the moon.
4.- If it´s not the right size, I´ll bring it back.
5.- If Iwas yonger, I´d join you.


B

1.- I´d visit the Science Museum if it was/were open.
2.- If the shops are open, I´ll buy some new clothes.
3.- I´d go to the Island if it wasn´t/weren´t too far.
4.- If the wether is nice, I´ll go to the zoo.
5.- I´d go for a sail around the harbour if there was/were enough time.

CONDITIONALS 2

A
1.- b, c
2.- a, d

B

1.- If I got rich, I´d move to Florida.
2.- If I become president, I´ll build houses for everyone.
3.- If I became president, I´d build houses for everyone.
4.- If I win a lot of money, I´ll give up work.
5.- If I´won a lot of money, I´d give up work.
6.- If I had a boy, I´d call him Rudi.
7.- If I have a boy, I´ll call him  Rudi.

C

1.- A
2.- B

*** NEW***

ACTIVITY 2. PUT THE VERBS IN PARENTHESES INTO THE CORRECT TENSE.

1.- If we had enough money,  we ____________ (can) go to the cinema.
2.- If I had known it was your birthday, I__________________ (buy) you a present.
3.- If I were you, I ______________ (write) a letter of complaint to the company.
4.- If I hadn´t got stuck in traffic, I__________________ (not / miss) the train.
5.- If we had been invited to the wedding, we ________________________ (go).
6.- If you didn´t have to work on Saturdays, we _______________ (visit) your parents more often.
7.- If I were an architect, I _______________(design) my own house.
8.- If you had studied harder, you ___________________________ (not / fail) your exams.
9.- If you had told him the truth, we _________________ (forgive) you.
10.- If we had a garden we _______________ (grow) our own vegetables.
** SEND YOUR ANSWERS BY E-MAIL **
START DATE:

VETERINARY

JANUARY 13TH 12:00 HRS.

LIMIT DATE:

VETERINARY

JANUARY 14TH 22:00 HRS.